Global English for students

Global English for Global Students

Getting to know you

11 Comments

So…let me introduce myself. You can comment and do the same! Cut and paste the sentences below and change your answers.

I’m from Australia.
At the weekends I relax and drink too much coffee.
For breakfast I usually eat cheese on toast.
When I’m older I think I’ll be pretty much the same.
Next week I’m going to try to sleep early
I listen to music when I surf the internet.
I’ve never been to China.
Learning English is never complete, but always fun.
The best day of the week is Wednesday, because my students have finally woken up.
I don’t really like Monday mornings.

How about you?

11 thoughts on “Getting to know you

  1. I’ m Huimin
    I’m from China.
    At the weekends I sleep and go shopping.
    For breakfast I usually eat cereal and toast.
    When I’m older I think I’ll be more confident.
    Next week I’m going to eat less to lost my weight.
    I listen to music when I on the bus.
    I’ve never been to Europe.
    Learning English is a way to view the whole world.
    The best day of the week is Friday, because after the test,we ‘ll have a short holiday.
    I don’t really like Monday mornings

    • Great job Huimin! Thanks for “getting the ball rolling” (starting). Let’s see if others can follow 🙂 I agree with you, you definitely get more confident in life as you get older. This is particularly true when you learn a language. It’s hard to be confident at the beginner, but as you get familiar with it, and when people start to understand you more easily, then your confidence will grow more and more.

      Good luck with your studies. It looks like you’re making fabulous progress 😀

  2. I’m from China
    At the weekends I relax and stay in sofa to watch a funny movie .
    For breakfast I usually eat noodles with an egg ,but I’m not really like noodles ,I just think it’s easy to cook in the morning .
    When I’m older …
    Next week I’m going to try to find a new flat.
    I listen to classical music when I try to learn the new vocabularies.
    I’ve never play football ,although sometimes I watch the game on TV.
    Learning English have a lot of fun .At the moment I try to learn English hard .I believe one day I ‘ll speak English very well.
    The best day of the week is Saturday,
    I don’t really like Friday ,because I ‘m a bit nervous ,when I do a text ,though the text is not so difficult for me .

    When I’m older …(Anthony, I don’t understand this sentence)

    • Thanks for this Charles. Just a couple of suggestions.

      …but I’m not really like noodles = …but I don’t really like noodles.

      Learning English have a lot of fun = Learning English is a lot of fun / Learning English has been a lot of fun / Learning English means you can have a lot of fun. (There are lots of ways to say the same thing in English!!)

      At the moment I try to learn English hard = At the moment I’m trying hard to learn English.

      And to answer your question: When I’m older, I think I’ll…
      For example, if you are 20 years old now, you can say: “When I’m older (e.g. 30 years old), I think I’ll be a doctor / I think I’ll have lots of money / I think I’ll be happier.

      It’s a prediction about your personality or your life in the future.

      I hope that helps!

      Happy learning 🙂

  3. I’m from Palestine.
    At the weekends I hang out with friends.
    For breakfast I always drink coffee.
    When I’m older I think I’ll be pretty much the same.
    Next week I’m going to try to STOP smoking
    I listen to music when I wait school bus.
    I’ve never been to australia.
    Learning English is never complete, but always fun.
    The best day of the week is Wednesday,there is no reason.
    I don’t really like Monday mornings.
    Bob 🙂

    • Hi Bob,

      Good luck quitting smoking. I’m a non-smoker, but I can guess that it’s difficult to quit! You’re right, learning English is never complete, even for a native speaker! I still look up words all the time, and I’m a teacher. I agree with you, Wednesday is a good day. In offices, people often call it “hump day”, because you are “over the hump (hill) in the middle of the week”. Check out this link, it explains it more: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=hump%20day

      I don’t like Monday mornings either. I always wish it was still the weekend on Monday morning!!

      Great work Bob. All the best for your studies 🙂

  4. Hi , I’m hend from Saudi Arabia .I’m looking for job. 5 months ago I went to malaysia and studied English language at IH and ELS. I wish to come back again and study master degree there.I like drinking too much coffee everyday. I don’t like eating breakfat at all.Next week I’m going to try to sleep early.I listen to music all the day.I don’t really like to set at home without any job or anything. I wish to change my life as soon as.

    • Hi Hend, nice to hear from you! Good luck with your job hunt! It sounds like maybe we’ll see you back in Malaysia again soon. Just a quick tip from your comments above. We usually say “as soon as possible”.

      All the best 🙂

  5. Hi, Anthony! Nice blog,So I hope here has many more learning tips to come. 😉
    I’M FROM Brazil
    AT THE WEEKENDS I’ve two beloved hobbies: studying English at home by myself and sure to relax by watching TV documentaries produced through BBC or Discovery Channel.
    FOR BREAKFAST I normally eat some breads with fried eggs, cheese or a natural sandwich at times, It’s very tasty and helathy these kinds of sandwiches with greens and light ham.
    WHEN I’M OLDER I THINK I want to get better as a person and professional and sure to be more happy than ever before I was.
    NEXT WEEK I’m PROBABLY going to be studying because my college exams will be much more near of me. hahaha!!!
    I LISTEN TO MUSIC WHEN I put on my headphones on my PC and start to navigate through the enchanting electronic music world.
    I’VE NEVER BEEN in an english-speaking countrylike Australia or UK, by the way I intend to be in a near future I hope so! 😉
    LEARNING ENGLISH IS a fascinating journey for me, which I’m enjoying more and more day by day. Just good adjectives for this pastime: amazing, superb, entertainable and so on so forth…
    THE BEST DAY OF THE WEEK IS any of them, as long as, be a happy, joyful day with lovely people and friends which I enjoy to stay.
    I DON’T REALLY LIKE sad, discouragement and friendly persons, as well as, injustice, sadness and any other down feeling.
    So, that’s it for now! Cheers!!!

  6. Hi Daniel! Thanks for your contributions. It seems like you’re making some great progress with your English. Keep up the good work!

Comment here :)

